15th EISC Plenary Conference


14-15 October 2013

Belgian Senate, Brussels, Belgium

Invitation letter


Sunday 13 October 2013

19.00Walking Dinner hosted by Alain COURTOIS, Senator and First Alderman of the City of Brussels at Brussels Town Hall, Salle Gothique, Grand Place, 1000 Brussels 


Monday 14 October 2013 : EISC Day 1 – open to all participants

9.00Welcome Coffee and registration
10.00Opening of the 15th EISC

Chair : Dominique TILMANS, Chairwoman of the Belgian Space Working Group and Chairwoman of the 15th EISC

Welcome Address by Sabine de BETHUNE, Chairwoman of the Belgian Senate

Opening Address by Dominique TILMANS, Chairwoman of the Belgian Space Working Group and Chairwoman of the 15th EISC


  • Philippe COURARD, Belgian Deputy Minister for Science Policy
  • Jean-Jacques DORDAIN, Director General of ESA
  • Vittorio PRODI, Chair of the Sky and Space Intergroup of the European Parliament
  • Video message from Luca Parmitano, astronaut onboard the ISS
10.45Space and Education: How can we enhance the interest of upcoming talents and students towards space studies?

Chair : Frank DE WINNE, Astronaut, Head of the European Astronaut Centre Department

Panel Debate with young space scientists and young space professionals from the EISC Member States moderated by Kai-Uwe SCHROGL, Head of the ESA Policies Department:

  • Kristel MIJNENDONCKX, PhD student at the Catholic University of Louvain-la-Neuve (UCL) and Belgian Nuclear Research Center (SCK*CEN), Belgium.
  • Błażej ŻYLIŃSKI, Student at the Warsaw University of Technology, Poland.
  • Vivien CROES, recently a trainee for Kayser-Threde GmbH, Munich, Germany.
  • Işıl ŞAKRAKER, PhD Candidate at the University of Liège and Von Karman Institute For Fluid Dynamics, Belgium.
  • Christophe MEERTS, Engineer at Swiss Space Systems, Switzerland.
  • Ignacio SERNA ZAPLANA, Deputy Project Manager at EADS, CASA Espacio, in Spain.
  • Mart NOORMA, Associate Professor at the University of Tartu, Estonia.
  • Ciara MCGRATH, undergoing a MEng Aero-Mechanical Engineering at the University of Strathclyde, Glasgow, The United Kingdom.  
  • Francesca INES MORETTO, Fellow in the National and International Relations Division, Italian Space Agency (ASI), Italy.
  • Virginie HAGER, Payload Mission Increment Preparation Engineer at ESA/ESTEC, The Netherlands.
  • Dragos BRATASANU, Research Scientist at the Romanian Space Agency ROSA, Romania.
  • Andrea JAIME ALBALAT, Executive Director of the Space Generation Advisory Council (SGAC)
  • Hugo SIMOES, Young ESA representative, Italy.

Intervention by Dionysia-Theodora Avgerinopoulou, Member of Parliament Greece, Chairperson of the Environment Committee of the Greek Parliament.

12.15Announcement of the winner of the EISC-ESA "Space for Sustainability" Award

Chair : Polish-Belgian-French Trio Presidency

Introduction by Jean-François CLERVOY, ESA Astronaut, Chairperson of the Jury

Winner: Maxime Puteaux


 Buffet Lunch in the Presidential Reception Rooms of the Belgian Senate

14.00Prospects and projects for young professionals and students.

Chair : Senator Lieve MAES, member of  the Belgian Space Working Group

Debate with space industry representatives moderated by Alain RATIER, Director General of EUMETSAT

  • Jean-Yves LE GALL, President of the CNES
  • Alain BORIES, Senior Vice President of Strategy and Business Development of OHB Technology A.G
  • Joël CHENET, Vice President of Strategy and Business Development of Thales Alenia Space
  • Aarti HOLLA-MAINI, Secretary General ESOA
  • Olivier LEMAITRE, Head of Brussels Office ASD-Eurospace

Conclusions by Peter HULSROJ, Director of the European Space Policy Institute


Family Photo

16.15Visit to the Space Education Exhibition in the Peristyle Entrance Hall of the Belgian Senate


19.30Official Dinner in the Palais d'Egmont, 8bis Place du Petit Sablon/rue des Petits Carmes, 1000 Brussels, hosted by Didier REYNDERS, Belgian Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs, Foreign Trade and European Affairs

Speech by Senator Dominique Tilmans



Tuesday 15 October 2013 - for EISC members only

10:00 Chair : Senator Louis SIQUET, member of  the Belgian Space Working Group

Welcome Address by Dominique TILMANS, Chairwoman of the Belgian Space Working Group and Chairwoman of the 15th EISC

10:15Discussion and Adoption of the Resolution

Appointment of the 2014 Presidency – France

Official closing of the 15th EISC

11:00Guided Tour of the Belgian Federal Parliament
12:00Lunch in the Mezzanine Restaurant of the Belgian Federal Parliament